Every life is a defense of a particular form.
Archive 2002-2004 | 2004-2007 | 2007-2008 | 2008-2010
>> | < | > | << | d | website | email | facebook

Thursday, Jul. 14, 2011 1:50 p.m.

Notes:

Silence is a condition in which intention is given up.
-David Toop on John Cage

For Cage, art works were vehicle for coming closer to life. 'Do you gree with the statement: After all, nature is better thn art?' he asked 'Where does beauty begin and where does it end? Where it ends is where the artist begins.'
-David Toop

Everytime I read an interview of Francis Alys I think 'oh my god this is exactly what I've been thinking'. Even the way he moves back and forth between various media and projects and sites sounds very familiar to me - isn't it how I work and think? I wonder if it is only natural for an architect-turned-artist to go along that direction and adopt that multi-tasking mode. I also like the way he speaks in plain language. I personally find it hard to think in abstract terms. I admire people who can do that, but I guess it's all about knowing yourself including your limits, taking up a suitable position and expressing yourself in a language that you can master.

I wish I was on the street witnessing this on that day in 2005.

More about his Seven Walks on Artangel.

Some more notes:

Wanderlust P.50

The walker toiling along a road toward some distant place is one of the most compelling and universal images of what it means to be human, depicting the individuals small and solitary in a large world, reliant on the strength of body and will.

P.29

Walking returns the body to its original limits again, to something supple, sensitive, and vulnerable, but walking itself extends into the world as do those tools that augment the body. The path is an extension of walking, the places set aside for walking is a mode of making the world as well as being in it. Thus the walking body can be traced in the places it has made; paths, parks, and sidewalks are traces of the acting out of imagination and desire; walking sticks, shoes, maps, canteens, and backpacks are further material results of that desire. Walking shares with making and working that crucial element of engagement of the body and the mind with the world, or knowing the world through the body and the body through the world.

每日一千字就會有時間剩黎proofread同剪片,O唔OK先?

I feel uncomfortable when a friend told me she moved to a place with lots of blacks and hence dangerous. I am fed up with such stereotypical remarks about South London and districts less white. When will we learn to be brave and open?

>> | < | > | << | d | website | email | facebook | archive 2002-2004 | 2004-2007 | 2007-2008
lokbi©2016