Every life is a defense of a particular form.
Archive 2002-2004 | 2004-2007 | 2007-2008 | 2008-2010
>> | < | > | << | d | website | email | facebook

Friday, Mar. 25, 2011 4:59 p.m.

Just discussed the 1972 documentary of Edie senior and Edie junior (who were aunt and cousin of Jackie Kennedy) of Grey Gardens by the Maysles brothers in class. At the end of the discussion Joss played us Grey Gardens by Rufus Wainwright and it was only then that I realized that the woman voice ("it's very difficult to keep the line between the past and the present. You know what I mean?") was actually one of the opening lines of the film.

Rufus Wainwright kept singing the name 'Tadzio' in the song. I wonder if he's referring to the Tadzio in the Thomas Mann novel (i.e. something about homosexuality)?

The film is amazing - the women were so crazy but charming, and they were very intelligent at the same time. They were totally comfortable in front of the camera and were even flirting with the filmmakers / the opportunity to make a film about themselves. I should find out more about their Rolling Stones documentary as well.

Finally I had my presentation this morning. Questions / points raised by the class:
- Whether I consider the work as a live performance with spectators or a recorded performance and how different these two would be.
- The video was obviously not Francis Alys' kind of political, yet the act of triggering security lights was somehow subtly political, and led to discussion on neighbourhood watch, paranoia, London's crime map etc.
- London A-Z map was started by a woman walking
- Should go see Museum of London (for a street photograph or something)
- Scale & political power (I have totally forgot why these were brought up. Because of the Eyal Weizman quote?)

Jordan saw potential in the work and asked me to get a proper videocamera and extend the video and slower the pace. Seems that the presentation was well-received and people liked the last video in particular. I showed Anafelle the clip afterwards since she was late. I'm happy that even she liked it - she's usually very skeptical towards my work you see. This is quite encouraging le, although I do worry that after I go back to Hong Kong I won't be able to produce anything anymore if I have to work at least 9-6 Mon to Fri.

I am also going to participate in a group show in a gallery near Battersea Park in April (need to pay la of course). Heard that it's a nice gallery space. Going to show the window piece perhaps.

>> | < | > | << | d | website | email | facebook | archive 2002-2004 | 2004-2007 | 2007-2008
lokbi©2016