Every life is a defense of a particular form.
Archive 2002-2004 | 2004-2007 | 2007-2008 | 2008-2010
>> | < | > | << | d | website | email | facebook

Wednesday, Feb. 23, 2011 1:23 p.m.

This San Francisco-based New Zealand singer reminds me of Mazzy Star. Much less gloomy though.

I went to Tate Modern for the Gabriel Orozco show yesterday. The firm alarm went off after I spent only 10 minutes in the exhibition, and everyone had to leave by the fire escape staircase. I sat on one of the benches outside, watching people pouring out from the huge former power station. I couldn't help worrying that I wouldn't have enough time to finish the exhibition since it was 430 already and they close at 6, but after 15 minutes the door was open again.

It turned out that the exhibition wasn't an extremely big one, but I was impressed by the variety of the artwork. And as the artist played with so many different medium and styles, there were certainly some that I didn't quite agree with, and some that I really admired. In general, I would prefer his photographs and sculptures over his geometrical paintings, but that might be due to my background and lack of knowledge for paintings. But speaking of work on paper I do like his Obituary series in which he extracted the first line of obituaries from the newspaper, maintaining the font types and sizes, and printed them on japanese paper. The words looked so absurdly out of place when taken out of the original context, yet there's something poeitc about them since they were extremely condensed summary of one's life.

My hands are my heart, 1991

-------------------
We are having a group exhibition starting from 3/3 (Mum's birthday). I'm going to exhibit the window series called Light will guide you home. I still think that there are ways to make it better... try one more time tonight and see what I can do before submitting it to the installation team la.
Wimbledon College of Art MA Interim Show 2011

The website is designed by me and Ian. Obviously it's still under construction so you can't see the artists' info displayed properly yet.

------------

Lemon chicken. dou hai gum la. not too bad but not good. the lemon was too strong. should add honey next time. and the chicken meat was over-cooked.

Photobucket

----------------------

Saw from a website that you could try driving a Northern Line train in London Transport Museum. This sounds really exciting. haha. When Jenny comes to London I should make her visit that museum with me. and then I should buy each of you a very useless Tube logo keyring. hahaha.

>> | < | > | << | d | website | email | facebook | archive 2002-2004 | 2004-2007 | 2007-2008
lokbi©2016