Every life is a defense of a particular form.
Archive 2002-2004 | 2004-2007 | 2007-2008 | 2008-2010
>> | < | > | << | d | website | email | facebook

Thursday, Apr. 23, 2015 11:38 p.m.

A longtime net friend suddenly asked me to recommend easy piano pieces as he has recently started to learn play the piano by himself. Pondered for a few seconds, I sent him the score of Bach's Prelude and Fugue in C Major, and told him that the prelude should be quite easy to manage.

This friend introduced me to many things when I was 16 or 17 - to Spiritualized, The Byrds, The Velvet Underground and other great music, to contemporary artists like Peter Blake, Jeff Koons and Damien Hirst. He's the only skateboarder I knew, and he's the first friend who would make conceptual art pieces (even though he quitted school after F.5 and didn't have any formal art education), rent a studio in an industrial building, and smoke weed sometimes.

It was a rather exciting time when strangers met on the internet could open up a new world for you.

Knowing that he has always loved anything cool and alternative, I told him that people actually played music on harpsichords instead of pianos back in 16th and 17th centuries, and the harpsichord has an amazing, resolute and metallic and sound. I was lucky enough to have seen and heard the harpsichord in Fenton House in Hampstead.

I am now listening to Bach's Partitas posted by some depressed Facebook friend. Bach is always good for the mind and heart. I am glad that I am simply enjoying the music instead of trying heal myself tonight. Fortunate enough.

How lovely if I could play music for you again. Even better if we could go for a walk, have a nice dinner, go home together and cuddle in bed. Sometimes happy, sometimes intellectual, sometimes serious, sometimes passionate, sometimes silly.

>> | < | > | << | d | website | email | facebook | archive 2002-2004 | 2004-2007 | 2007-2008
lokbi©2016