Every life is a defense of a particular form.
Archive 2002-2004 | 2004-2007 | 2007-2008 | 2008-2010
>> | < | > | << | d | website | email | facebook

Sunday, Nov. 14, 2010 7:19 p.m.

星期五到利物浦一日遊,看雙年展,全日感覺有點不對勁,回程感覺窒息。星期六,到green park附近的white cube看the clock,還沒見過如此墟冚的畫廊,一百人擠在一個projection前靜靜看著不斷出現的時鐘畫面。Tutor說他凌晨三點去看也是座無虛席。

睇書jot notes。

"I was walking home one rainy evening in New York City and I had to stop briefly to wipe the raindrops off my eyeglasses. As I held my glasses up to clean them, a car drove by and I instatnly noticed the image of its headlights passing through all the tiny raindrops clinging to the surface of my lenses. I looked closer. Another car went by. I could clearly see within each droplet a perfect little image of the stret with the lights and the cars passing by. I cleaned off my glasses and put them on so I could see. I looked around and saw that the water drops on the hood of a parked car were also imaging the street scene. I realized, in fact, that every drop of water, even the falling rain, was doing the same. Seeing the drop images on the lenses of my glasses helped me to realize that these images were not reflections, but were optical images. Each waterdrop was functioning as a tiny wide-angle lens to image the world aroun. Exhilarated, I raced back to my studio, got out my video camera and began to experiment with magnifying the image in the waterdrop"

"Concept of the correspondence between the microcosm and the macrocosm"

Know the world is a mirror from head to foot,
In every atom are a hundred blazing suns.
If you cleave the heart of one drop of water,
A hundred pure oceans emerge from it.
If you examine closely each grain of sand,
A thousand atoms may be seen in it.
In its members a gnat is like an elephant.
In its qualities a drop of rain is like the Nile.
The heart of a barley-corn equals a hundred harvests,
A world dwells in the heart of a millet seed.
In the wing of a gnat is the ocean of life.
In the pupil of the eye a heaven:
What though the grain of the heart be small
Tt is a station of the lord of both worlds to dwell therein.

-Mahmud Shabistari


在專賣舊樂譜的書店掀hymn book,終於找回這找很喜歡的開學歌。

Lord, behold us with thy blessing
Once again assembled here:
Onward be our footsteps pressing
In thy love and faith and fear;
Still protect us
By thy presence ever near.

For thy mercy we adore thee,
For this rest upon our way;
Lord, again we bow before thee,
Speed our labours day by day;
Mind and spirit
With thy choicest gifts array.

Keep the spell of home affection
Still alive in every heart;
May its power, with mild direction,
Draw our love from self apart,
Till thy children
Feel that thou their Father art.

Break temptation's fatal power,
Shielding all with guardian care,
Safe in every careless hour,
Safe from sloth and sensual snare;
Thou, our Saviour,
Sill our failing strength repair.

>> | < | > | << | d | website | email | facebook | archive 2002-2004 | 2004-2007 | 2007-2008
lokbi©2016